25 random things….

1. I grew up in Jamaica, I spent 17 years there and at some level it is the place that most nourishes my soul

2. I knew from the moment I met him that my husband was going to play an important part in my life…there was just something there

3. I have been in love 3 times but have had the great fortune of marrying my one great love.

4. I love to cook…absolutely love it!  I harbour secret dreams of opening my own restaurant/inn some day.

5. In respect to #4 I am absolutely passionate about food and ingredients, if its organic, home grown, natural, unprocessed its for me.  I firmly believe that most of life’s problems are caused by bad eating and eating habits!

6. Before my daughter was born I was absolutely terrified about being a mother.  I thought I would be really crap at it.  Now I love it and can’t wait to have more children.

7. Having been brought up and educated (mostly) outside of India, when I shifted back I was determined to work for INDIA…I work for Indian organisations, working with Indian NGOs and Indian communities.  I know it might sound quaintly patriotic but for me it was my way of feeling useful.

8.  Even though Jamaica is in many ways the place that nourishes my soul (see #1), India is the place that feeds my imagination.  It is mad, chaotic, passionate, frightening, infuriating, beautiful, ugly all at once and even though moving to Delhi has been a HUGE adjustment, I don’t think I could any longer live anywhere else.

9. I believe firmly in the idea that Heaven is right here on Earth.  I do not believe in religion, but rather see god everyday in my family, friends, the world around me.  Similarly Hell too is right here on Earth and my work brings me closer to it than most people.  I know exactly how lucky I am to have what I do!

10. I secretly covet Dior and Jimmy Choo!  But the idea of spending that much on a bag or a pair of shoes scares me.

11. I think the sari is the most beautiful garment on earth.  I can never have too many and am constantly fascinated with the different weaves, embroideries, colours, fabrics that exist.

12. I love that both my hubby and I follow our hearts and do what we love for a profession.  I don’t think I could have it any other way.  I hope I can impart the same to my daughter.

13. I hated my baby brother when we young, he drove me batty.  Today I think he is one of the most grounded and amazing people I know. Plus he’s really funny to boot!

14. I once questioned my sexuality, albeit briefly. It was more about college experimentation and angst than anything else.

15. I find licorice to be one of the most revolting things in the world, followed closely by tomato ketchup!

16. My friends and family are my most treasured resource.  Often they intermingle.  I cannot tell the difference between the two categories – my family are my friends and my friends are my family.

17. I love to travel, I was born to travel.  Settling down to living in one city has been a huge mental and physical adjustment.  I now love travelling with hubby and daughter in tow…tho once in a while its still fun to set off on the road on my own.

18. I am VERY houseproud…I already know what my dream house will look like.  I have been planning it for years.  I know this sounds contradictory for someone with itchy feet (see #17).  But for me part of the fun of travelling is the knowledge of a beautiful place to come back to.

19. I learnt to play the piano when I was younger.  It was something I was pretty good at.  I wish I could still play as well.  It is something I would love to go back to as I get older.  Especially to pass on the love of different kinds of music to my daughter.

20. I love with passion

21. I would like to learn to ride a horse one day (I am not too sure if its too late) just to be able to ride into the sunset with my love.

22. I worry everyday about the planet I am leaving for my daughter.  I try to be ecologically friendly.  I eat local, grow my own food, reuse plastic bags, aluminium foil, take out containers, bottles, try to save electricity and water.  I don’t see this as a huge ecological committment but rather just the way that both my mother and grandmother’s’ ran their homes.

23. I would like to write a book, it will be called “the girl who came out of the cupboard” – there is a special reason for the title that would take too long to explain here.

24. I love books, of all kinds.  I can read anything.  I collect old books and erotic literature.  I love the feel of a leather bound book.  My favourite passage from any book is from “The Tale of Two Cities”.

25. I know its probably not fashionable to say it, but I actually really liked writing down these 25 things.  It was sort of self-reflexive therapy!

2 thoughts on “25 random things….

Leave a Reply

